Chaminade’s Bryce Johnson to walk on at Grambling

National Signing Day is fast approaching on Wednesday,and while many athletes will choose a scholarship offer, more than you might expect will instead decide that the best option is to pay their own way to play at the next level. Chaminade running back Bryce Johnson, part of the resurgent Red Devil squad in recent years, explains the journey to that decision that will take him to Grambling next fall.

Over the four years of my high school athletic experience has really been a nice journey. All four years I have played football and ran track. My main sport is football and I would just like to thank Coach Torrey, the head coach, Coach Stevenson, The running back coach, and the rest of the coaching staff for really making my 4 years special.

The recruiting process for me was going very slow to be honest. I got my first offer from Avila University mid-December and after that the offers just started to roll on in. I was interested in Grambling State University because my parents graduated from there, and they had an amazing season this year. They finished the year 12-1, only losing to Arizona by 10 due to the QB getting hurt. I did all of my visits within 2 weeks this month. After doing those visits I dropped my top 3 schools (Robert Morris, Millikin, and Grambling). After taking these visits I left believing that I would be more successful just walking on to Grambling.

If you’d like to write about your recruiting decision, contact us at stlprepsemail@gmail.com

Aside | This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

