Hazelwood Central’s Jordan Carey ready to pave Ivy League path

STL Preps is the place where student-athletes can tell the world about their recruiting journey in their own words. Here’s Hazelwood Central rising senior Jordan Carey on his decision to play at Yale next fall.

“Going into high school I never put much thought into actually playing football in college. I mean, of course I dreamed of being able to play at the next level, but I never imagined those dreams would come true. It wasn’t until my sophomore year that I realized playing at the next level was a real possibility.

At this point in time, I had offers from the University of Pennsylvania, Davidson College, Columbia University, Southeast Missouri University, Southern Illinois University, Georgetown, Colgate University, South Dakota State University, Yale University, and Harvard University. With the support of my parents, I visited as many of these schools as I could in preparation of making this very important decision.  My top 3 schools were UPenn, Harvard, and Yale because the chance to go to the Ivy League does not come around often, plus I had developed good relationships with the coaches. However, at the end of the day, I could only commit to one and I decided to choose Yale.

I chose Yale because I felt they had many of the intangibles, a strong tradition, a great alumni network, and I, as well as my parents, felt I would fit in best there. The atmosphere around the coaches and players was positive, and I loved the campus. In addition, Yale often recruits out of the St. Louis area as they have three local players on the team, which made me feel even more comfortable with my decision. Overall, I can truly see myself spending the next four years of my life at Yale and not regretting a single thing. “

Aside | This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

