A Record Breaker, A Player of The Week & The Story Behind A Buzzer Beater

Welcome to Super Bowl Monday….

A few items to pass along.

  • We asked for your players of the week, and we heard this from Rosati-Kain Head Basketball Coach Shawn Benedict about Junior Shannon Theobald:

“She scored 34 points with 8 3-pointers in a 64-57 win against McKinley Tuesday night.  The 34 points ties the top spot on the school record, and the 8 three pointers beats the previous record of 6.”

  • We’re seeing lots of players hitting big milestones and breaking school records. Senior Jada Poland scored 16 points Friday in Ft. Zumwalt West’s 66-55 loss against Francis Howell Central. In doing so she became the leading scorer in program history, surpassing Lexie Moe’s 1,466 total. Poland told us what this means to her as she prepares to head for North Texas next fall:

“To be the all team leading scorer means a lot to me. It means that I worked hard every since my freshman year to get this record. And that was hard. I had a great teammate Lexie Moe who held that title last year. And I feel I honored to have it this year. My hard work has payed off and one of my dreams had came true.”

  • On the boy’s side, Fort Zumwalt West knocked off Francis Howell Central thanks to a Connor Wootten buzzer-beater, 59-56.

Here’s what Wootten said about the memorable moment

“We never quit. We lost to this team by double digits last time, but we knew we could win this game at home, especially if we put 4 quarters together and not just 3. We’ve been struggling to put 4 quarters together all season but we knew we could figure it out in front of a packed house. After a slow start, we were gelling as a team and our shots were falling!! I’m sure I’ve had a buzzer beater before, but never like this!! It was unbelievable and I will never forget this moment!  I’m so happy we could win at home!!”

Said Lewis: “The University of South Dakota came in late January. After a visit to the campus and meeting with the coaching staff and professors, I was sold on the university.  I look forward to spending my college years at the University of South Dakota with my fellow coyotes.”

Said Cameron on heading for McKendree: “I had several schools after me. Truman State, Missouri Western, McKendree, Missouri Valley and Quincy. I visited McKendree 2 weeks ago and Truman state last weekend… There at the school I will be given the opportunity to play QB. McKendree was the best fit for me and my family and i feel that with they’re 9-2 record last season they are on the verge of becoming great and I want to be apart of that.”

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

