De Smet Jesuit Baseball Coach Looks Back On First Season

Fresh off his first season as Head Baseball Coach at De Smet Jesuit, we asked Dave Stewart to look back and look forward to what’s in store for his program.

I couldn’t reflect on my first season without first acknowledging the job Coach Vitello did for 35 plus years. As soon as I took the job and we got going as a program, you could see the ripples of his work flowing through De Smet. His hard work and dedication to this school and baseball program has made the transition very smooth for myself and everyone involved.

I couldn’t be more pleased with my first year as Head Baseball Coach at De Smet. All in all I believe it to be a very successful year. We finished 19-10 losing in the District 5 final 1-0 to the state champions, CBC. We beat a lot of top ranked teams and created some serious momentum winning 6 straight heading into district play. All of this would not have been possible without my senior class. I was very blessed to have a strong senior core for my first year that understood the dedication and sacrifice it takes to play high school baseball. They lead by example showing up every day with the willingness to get better and above all compete. They left a mark on this program that will blossom for years to come.

All the results of my first year were great but even more important than that are the relationships I built with my boys. A big reason to why I wanted this job was to be involved in Catholic Education and be at an institution were you have the freedom to use athletics as an avenue to create higher education and development of the entire person. We have a great opportunity and obligation at De Smet to aid in the process of building boys into men of faith, character and integrity.

Our goal for our program is to compete at every level and to win championships. This has and always will be the standard like it is for many programs. In pursuit of this goal we will use the sport to develop young men into future leaders of our community. I am very blessed to be at De Smet and looking forward to the future.

Are you a new coach in the area and want to introduce yourself to the community? Email stlprepsemail@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

