St. Louis U High QB Shares SEC Camp Process At Ole Miss

As the summer football camp season keeps unfolding, we were curious to see how the experience is handled in other parts of the country. We’re happy that Mitchell Batschelett, a rising junior quarterback for SLU High, took us along for the journey to Ole Miss. Batschelett passed for over 1300 yards and had 12 TDs in the air for the Jr. Bills in 2014. For Batschelett the camp process truly is a family affair in more ways than one.
SLUH QB Mitchell Batschelett at the Ole Miss high school camp.

SLUH QB Mitchell Batschelett at the Ole Miss high school camp.

The Ole Miss camp was a very awesome experience. It was an invite only prospect camp so the numbers were lower than most camps. When I first arrived I was given a tour of the facilities with my cousin Will Lawrence (Class of 2018 OL) from Memphis who has almost 30 D1 offers including Ole Miss, Alabama, Auburn, Ohio State and more. The first thing that struck me was how much money and attention is payed to the athletic facilities and how nice everyone on their staff treated the players. It is obvious how much people down there care about their football. The coolest part of the tour was getting to try on actual game jerseys and taking pictures in the locker room.
SLUH QB Mitchell Batschelett (right), with his cousin, Memphis area OL prospect Will Lawrence at the Ole Miss Football Camp in June.

SLUH QB Mitchell Batschelett (right), with his cousin, Memphis area OL prospect Will Lawrence at the Ole Miss Football Camp in June.

The actual camp was very organized and up tempo. I loved the way that Ole Miss’s coaching staff was getting after it and helping to keep the energy up. I felt my performance was very good. Devante Kincade (current Ole Miss QB) even went up to Ole Miss’s quarterback coach (Dan Werner) and told him I was “his guy” due to my performance at the camp.
I am hoping that this camp helps me to gain a little bit of exposure and attention from bigger schools like Ole Miss. I am very grateful to have a family that cares about my goals and will help do anything (ex. drive me to Ole Miss at the last minute) to give me the best opportunity to achieve these goals. Just like me, they have a result in mind where I achieve these goals, and I love them very much for this attitude.
Aside | This entry was posted in Football, recruiting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

