Brady Anderson Overcomes Football Knee Injury To Pursue College Baseball Career

The Spring signing period is well underway, and we’re happy to share the stories of local athletes who will have the chance to play the sports they love at the next level. Today we have the story of Gillespie (IL) pitcher Brady Anderson, who will play at Northwest Missouri after overcoming a significant football injury
After a strong freshman and sophomore during my junior year of football playoffs,  I tore my ACL and both meniscus. Had total ACL reconstruction and meniscus repair on Nov 25 . 2 days post surgery started my rehab everyday and pt (physical therapy) 3-4 times weekly. 2 weeks out while still in brace, the St. Louis Pirates developed a throwing program for me that I could still continue to maintain my arm strength and not use my legs at all.   So in a nutshell, between working with the St. Louis Pirates, my physical therapy and working on my own, I was at it 7 days a week with the goal of being back for my spring baseball season which was 3 months from that point..needless to say I was released 3 months 2 days from surgery.
After traveling all summer with my summer team, my parents and I visited many campuses and Northwest Missouri state asked me to come for visit because they had seen one of my recruiting videos and we went for visit. I visited the campus and a friend of mine that plays football for the Bearcats took me around and introduced me to some of the baseball players and other students and after meeting the guys on the team I felt I had an immediate fit and felt like family.
So after the visit , the coach offered me and I gladly accepted.
Anderson says he’s hoping his high school career lasts as long as it can, hopefully with a repeat regional title.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

