Inside Brandon’s Big Shot: McKissic Breaks Down SLUH District Title Winner

For the first time since his team’s head coach was playing for the Junior Bills, Brandon McKissic and his St. Louis University High School teammates are district champions, with their eyes fixed on a run to the Final Four at Mizzou Arena.

We asked McKissic to take us inside the late game-heroics that allowed his team to advance past Webster Groves with the upset:

I would’ve never thought it would come down to that shot. We didn’t play well but we still executed our plays and got the shots we wanted. Then, Webster Groves made a great run to go up by 5 I think. So my right hand man Matt Nester aka “Ice” hits a big three to tie it all up. The Jr. Bills and I lockdown on defense and was able to get the 5 second call. Coach Claggett calls a timeout with 7 seconds left on the clock. Coach asked me what hand I wanted to drive with. At first I wanted to go left cause I knew Webster Groves thinks my left hand is weak. But, realizing what was at stake, I wanted the ball in my right hand.

Coach put Matt on the right corner just in case his man drops to help. Coach told me to put my head down and get the rim. As we inbound the ball I surveyed their defense to see how it was set up. It was perfect, a full denial and a open lane to drive. I drive to the basket and out of the corner my eye, I see their big man Floresca coming over. So, I gathered my self and put all my trust into my floater that my coach despises. As the ball goes off my fingertips, I felt it. I knew that ball was going in. The ball dropped into the basket. Next thing you know, the buzzer sounds and the team is hugging and the student section has stormed the court. Then at that moment, me and my “second dad” Coach Claggett share the biggest and longest hug. We had a small conversation during the hug. But overall, my thoughts about that last shot is that the moment I had to make something happen for my team is a blessing and I couldn’t stop thanking God for it.

For his efforts, McKissic was named this week’s FOX2 Athlete of the Week

Aside | This entry was posted in Boys Basketball and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inside Brandon’s Big Shot: McKissic Breaks Down SLUH District Title Winner

  1. Pingback: McKissic Aims To Prove SLUH Jr. Bills Want More Next Season | STL Preps

Leave a Reply

