Class of 2016: Wentzville Holt QB Emilio Monsivais

You often hear the phrase, “Next man up,” in the sports world when it comes to how teams move forward after losing a player to injury. Reserves get more playing time and become starters, etc.

The same phrase could apply to the world of college recruiting. Players already get scholarship offers years out from signing day, but with this year’s class of 2015 already in the books when it comes to football recruiting, the focus is now on the class of 2016. We invite student-athletes to share their recruiting journey with our readers. The first to do that is Wentzville Holt QB Emilio Monsivais.

If you’d like to share your story, email: stlprepsemail@gmail.com

Wentzville Holt High School QB Emilio Monsivais (Photo Credit  Emilio Monsivais)

Wentzville Holt High School QB Emilio Monsivais (Photo Credit
Emilio Monsivais)

“National Signing Day, February 4th, 2016 is a year away and the recruiting process has been picking up in the last year.

My sophomore year we as a team didn’t achieve the goals that we had set out to accomplish. Individually I was able to achieve some of the goals I had going into the season, but in the end it’s about the team achieving. After the season I started to get some general interest and attention from local D3 schools. I knew that I had some things to prove to my teammates and myself. I put in a lot of work this past offseason in the film room, weight room, camps and throwing with my guys.

Heading into this past season, My Junior year we didn’t do as well we would have liked as a team, but individually I had a good year. With the help from my teammates I was able to break five school records. Without my teammates I wouldn’t have been able to throw 27 TD passes, over 2,700 yards, and 4 rushing TD’s, All-Conference, Team Captain, and Offensive POY. The work that I put in during the offseason is starting to pay off.

Recruiting has really started to pick up. I am staring to hear from Mizzou, Indiana State, UCM, Northern Illinois and University of North Texas, where I will be going to their Junior Day. With that being said, I still am working hard day in and day out to achieve my goals. With the 2015 football season coming up, I’m looking forward to it getting started. We will have a strong senior group this season; a lot of us have been playing together for a while now. My goals as a team is to focus on one week at a time, if we are able to do that we should be able to win the GAC-Central division title, which Holt hasn’t done since 2012 I have some personal goals this year that I would like to get. I know that if we are able to achieve our team goals this year, I will be able to get personal goals as well. I will be traveling to a bunch of camps to get my name out there some more and hope to get more looks from bigger schools.”

Aside | This entry was posted in Football, recruiting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

