SLUH QB Perez Competes In USA Football Game Against Canada

It turns out the Super Bowl wasn’t the only football played in an NFL stadium over the weekend. AT&T Stadium in North Texas played host to a series of USA Football games pitting U.S. high school athletes against Canadian and world competitors. Among those participating was St. Louis University High School freshman quarterback Christian Perez, who was on the roster of the U-16 squad, which lost to Canada 34-17. Perez finished the day throwing 1 completion for 9 yards while sharing time with two other players at the position. Here’s how he described the week and how it could be a springboard to his sophomore season at SLUH:

This week, USA Football hosted our International Bowl at the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX. I spent the week training with the best coaches and athletes in the US. We arrived in Texas on Tuesday and right away we had our first practice. We started each day at 7:30 and ended at 10:30, we pretty much practiced, ate, practiced, ate and practiced some more– everyday. I can honestly say, I learned a lot at training camp and left a better QB. My roommate is my friend, another QB on U16, he’s from Texas, and he is the truth. We spent the week pushing each other to be better.

We had our jamboree on Thursday at the Dallas Cowboys stadium. I’m a Seahawks fan but I have to admit that is an awesome stadium and field. We scrimmaged, 30 minutes on offense and 30 minutes on defense, against Team Alberta, Canada, a 17 U team.  Team USA plays a year up. I felt good after the jamboree but then we were told that we would have to play an older team, Team Ontario, Canada because they originally played our U15 team and it was too big of a size difference.

The day of the game we checked out of the hotel and headed over to the stadium.  We got ready in the Cowboys locker room and when it was time, we ran out onto the Cowboys field.  It was really cool to see myself on the jumbo-tron.  We started the first half leading by 4 and then in the second half they had a couple big plays and we were unable to recover from it. It was a hard loss. The best part of this week was being able to represent my country with my brothers. We trained hard and even though we lost, we gave it our all.

I left this experience better. I broke my wrist on a run during the fourth game of our season, against CBC. With the shortened season, this experience allowed me to gain reps and game time repetition. I’m now ready for this break-out season my sophomore year. It’s coming!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SLUH QB Perez Competes In USA Football Game Against Canada

  1. Pingback: Windsor RB looks to build on earned spot with Team USA Football | STL Preps

Leave a Reply

