Coach Reflects on Under Armour All-American Game Trip

The St. Louis Metro East was honored to have two players selected for the just-completed Under Armour All American High School Football game. East St. Louis Defensive Lineman Terry Beckner, Jr., one of the top players in the entire 2015 senior class nationally, and Belleville West Kicker/Punter Austin Seibert, recognized by Rivals as the top high school kicker in this year’s class.

Seibert’s coach Cameron Pettus made the trip to Florida for the festivities and shared his reflections with STLPreps.

Photo courtesy Cameron Pettus

Photo courtesy Cameron Pettus

I had the honor to attend the Under Armour All American game for my kicker and punter Austin Seibert. It was a first class operation from when we first stepped off the plane in Orlando. I took my wife and 6 year old daughter with me (could not imagine being at the Orlando, kid Mecca, without them). After our shuttle ride from the airport we checked into the Hyatt Regency where all the players, coaches and families were staying. It was a nice surprise because I also discovered Minnesota was also staying at the same hotel in preparation for their Bowl game versus Mizzou. I know a lot of their staff very well, Coach Kill and company were at Southern Illinois for some time and got to know them while they were there. I actually visited with Coach Pat Poore and we had a great chance to talk and catch up. The next day I was invited to attend a coach’s social with Coach Mariucci. He is a great guy very approachable and a great people person, I got to sit and eat and talk with him at the social, it was a very good evening. The following day we had the reception and jersey ceremony where I was able to attend and visit with Austin’s parents Mark and Dawn and his little brother Logan. It was a wonderful evening. The 3rd day I hoped on a charter bus with another HS coach from Georgia and we traveled to Tropicana Filed which was about 1 and ½ hours away, it was great. It was like we had our own mini clinic on the way down there talking about everything football related. The game was exciting venue with a crowd of over 20,000. Too bad the game was not very good for Austin’s team, because it was lopsided but we got to see him punt a lot was great. I hoped back on the bus and returned to Orlando for the night. Early the next morning at 3am, we were headed out and saw and talked to Coach Herm Edwards, another very nice guy. We took a shuttle to the airport and back in St. Louis by 9 am. In between the football activities we were able to hit the Animal Kingdom at Disney and Universal Studios…. That was a blast with my little girl and wife. It was packed but so much fun (my daughter loves animals and Harry Potter). I cannot say enough great things about how we were treated and how the whole process was organized and performed. Under Armour put on a first class event, hopefully in the future I could have another All American…I sure would like to go back.
Cameron Pettus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

